Ester Mill Rd Fire
The Ester Mill Rd Fire was reported on February 27, 2026 in Leake County, Mississippi and has burned 12 acres. The cause is listed as human.
- Size
- 12 acres
- Contained
- Not reported
- Discovered
- February 27, 2026
Radar
Reflectivity now over Ester Mill Rd Fire. Open it to see fires and the fire weather outlook on the map.























Radar mosaic and map layers from NOAA MRMS and NOAA Storm Prediction Center. Boundaries from the Iowa Environmental Mesonet.
Map
Perimeter mapped March 9, 2026 at 9:46 AM CDT, 13 acres (mixed methods). Point of origin 32.634, -89.463.
The incident
- Size
- 12 acres
- Containment
- Not reported
- Discovered
- February 27, 2026 at 3:30 PM CST
- Cause
- Human
- County
- Leake County
- State
- Mississippi
- Protecting agency
- BIA
- Land ownership at origin
- Private
- Incident type
- Wildfire
- Unique fire identifier
- 2026-MSCHA-000202
- IRWIN identifier
- 14299481-C020-459D-8188-0083638908BA
Weather at the fire
- Wind up to 5 mph from the west
- Relative humidity as low as 38%
- High of 98°F
National Weather Service hourly forecast for the fire’s point of origin, next 24 hours.
Alerts in force
Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watches covering the fire's point of origin.
No Red Flag Warning or Fire Weather Watch is in force at the fire.
Smoke
NOAA’s Hazard Mapping System analysts have not drawn smoke over the fire’s origin today.
NOAA’s smoke model forecasts near-surface smoke at the origin peaking at 1.7 µg/m³ around Mon, 12:00 AM CDT over the next 48 hours.
Nearby
- Walnut Grove, MS3 miles south of the fire’s origin
- Carthage, MS8 miles northwest of the fire’s origin
- Hillsboro, MS12 miles south of the fire’s origin
- Coldwater, MS16 miles east of the fire’s origin
- Conehatta, MS16 miles southeast of the fire’s origin
- Pearl River, MS17 miles northeast of the fire’s origin
Mississippi wildfires today Wildfires of 2026 All current fires
Incident record from the National Interagency Fire Center’s Wildland Fire Interagency Geospatial Services (WFIGS), as the incident’s managers report it; last updated September 14, 2026 at 2:02 PM CDT. Identifier 2026-MSCHA-000202.